top of page
  • upallnightbb

Echoes by Alice Reeds


Review by Amy Echoes. Where do I begin? Alice Reeds has managed to leave me speechless with this unusually mysterious read. The book begins with Fiona and Miles, heading to an internship in Berlin. When their plane crashes on a deserted island, even though they were never friends at school, they find themselves having to rely on each other in order to try and find their way home. Paralleling this portion of the story, is a story of them arriving in Berlin. Why? How? When? That is what the entire book is about. Obscure and cryptic are the best ways I can describe this one. There was nothing straight forward and the entire book is written in a very arcane vein. You will not know what is going on until the very end, and guess what, you still won’t. It seems this must be the beginning of a series of books, or at least a second one is on the way, as it ended abruptly on a serious cliff hanger. Echoes had plenty of action, suspense, mystery, and even some romance. It was overall well written, well plotted and I enjoyed the main characters. It reminded me a bit of Dean Koontz’s Jane Hawk series, but for young adults. I enjoyed the confusing dance that occurred throughout, and I didn’t actually mind the abrupt ending, I just wish I had known going in that there would be more books to follow. I will hands down be reading the next book, hoping to find more answers to the unexplained chaos. **ARC provided for honest review**

Release Date: August 7, 2018

Add to Goodreads TBR: https://bit.ly/2vH4ktT

Preorder on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2MqgDlo

bottom of page