top of page
  • upallnightbb

Violent Ends (White Monarch #2) by Jessica Hawkins


Review by Nancy

I am officially one hundred percent invested in this trilogy. It is the definition of what I love to read in a mafia book. It is raw, violent, intense and it is absolutely captivating. Violent Ends is the second book in the White Monarch trilogy by Jessica Hawkins. You do have to read Violent Delights in order to understand this second book, believe me, you’ll want to read it! In the first book, we were introduced to our heroine Natalia and both the De La Rosa brothers, Diego and Cristiano. We were left trying to figure out who the bad guy was in the story and who Natalia would end up with. J. Hawkins left us with a lot of questions and a lot of anticipation. At the end of Violent Delights, I was at war with myself as to who I wanted to cheer on, now I know. I am rooting for Natalia and Cristiano to have some semblance of a happily ever after. Although in their world that might not be a possibility. I had an inkling that Cristiano was the good guy in this story despite not being so good. Yes he is the head of his cartel, but his cartel isn’t all that people have accused it of being. Behind closed doors Cristiano is trying to right some wrongs from his past, but more than anything he is trying to do right by those who have been wronged. He is a fierce and loyal leader. He has an army standing behind him that will give their lives for him. The problem is, all he wants is his new wife to trust him, to get to know him, to take a minute to see the real him. That feeling might just be his demise. Natalia has loved Diego ever since she was a little girl. She has also hated Cristiano for that long. No matter how many times Cristiano proves her wrong, no matter how many times he shows his true colors to her, she will never trust him. Let alone love him. So why does her body betray her, why does she crave and want his touch? Cristiano is hell-bent on waiting until she goes to him of her own free will, but she is determined to make him wait for the rest of their lives. What will happen when danger comes knocking at their door? Will she finally realize that Cristiano will go to the end of the world for her, or will their story end in a tragedy. I guess we will have to wait to find out... Talk about a jaw-dropping cliffhanger! I was at the edge of my seat up until the very last word. This is the reason I personally can not read trilogies. The anticipation of what comes next is too much. But I will say, this book is so worth the wait. I would read it again in a heartbeat. I can not wait to see how this story ends! J. Hawkins has done an absolutely phenomenal job with this story and I can only expect the series to get better. I am anticipating the trilogy to end with a bang and I can not wait! ***ARC received in exchange for an honest review.***

Release Date: June 18th 2019

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2ZLtZit

Purchase on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2x9vhHP

bottom of page