top of page
  • upallnightbb

Master Baker by Pippa Grant


Review by Nancy Master Baker is a sexy rom-com that was enjoyable from start to finish. A town rivalry has two bakers going head to head. The best part is that they have history. She was the one that got away and she’s back. Grady and Annika had once been best friends and spent most of their teenage years together. They both developed feelings for each other but the fact that Annika never wanted a boyfriend kept them from speaking their feelings out loud. There was no going back once Annika left town. She broke Grady’s heart and left without a backwards glance. Or so Grady thought. Years later Annika comes home and opens a bakery. She is no longer Grady’s best friend, she is now his rival. He knows for a fact Annika can not bake to save her life, so what is she doing opening a bakery? I had a hard time connecting with Annika. She had been hurt once and kept Brady at arm's length. I felt like she spent most of the story being mad at Brady and closed off. Brady kept trying to help her at every turn only to make Annika mad. I am all for an independent heroine, but sometimes even independent women need help. With that said, the banter between the two was great, the chemistry was obvious, and the rivalry was a lot of fun to read. This is the first book I read from Pippa Grant, and as much as I enjoyed it, I did feel like it was missing something for me. It was a little long for my taste. I felt like the town rivalry could have been kept to a minimum. It almost took away from the relationship aspect of the story. Nonetheless, I would read her again as I enjoyed the writing. ***ARC received in exchange for an honest review.***

Release Date: June 27th 2019

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2SoakCU

Purchase on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2GcJF70

bottom of page