top of page
  • upallnightbb

Wicked Devil (Devils of Sun Valley High #1) by Daniela Romero


Review by Leah So much running through my head after reading Wicked Devil. I assumed a lot seeing it was another bully romance, but Daniela Romero blazed her trail in this trope. She broke the mold with this one. The thing that will keep me coming back for more is that this is not another bully out for revenge. This is Roman being the typical HS playboy jock, and Allie walks in and knocks him on his rear end, and he has no clue how to handle that. We start with Allie pushing through some massive emotional demons. Losing her mom and surprise here is your biological father, who you now have to live with 2 hours away from your hometown can mess with one’s head. The bio-dad is a “donkey butt” by the way. Allie is written as a strong h, and I agree that she is, I just wanted a little more of that Latina blood to come out, i.e., the bathroom scene and the hallway scene. Ok, now the crescendo: the first and the only thing I highlighted in this book was to skip two different chapters thinking, “hmm, are you sure?”. I have not read a Daniela Romero book before, so I was a little skeptical. Well, lesson learned, please take note of that warning label. What Allie’s went through, gut-wrenching. And nothing to do with the emotional demons from above. Reading through these chapters, there were tears to closing my eyes and trying to keep reading, which did not work very well, by the way. Just UGH! And the way that scene handled afterward?? Royally pissed me off! I wanted to slap her the living devil out of that woman. My only issue is I am in the dark about her dad. I feel like we needed a little bit more about him to follow a big part of this book. This book is excellent. Strong characters, intense emotions, suspense, angst all written beautifully in Wicked Devil. **ARC provided for honest review**

Release Date: July 29th 2020

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2E825b9

Purchase on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3gaUo0U

bottom of page