top of page
  • upallnightbb

Backup Plan by Emily Goodwin


Review by Leah


Who does not love a story about going back home to fall back in love with your first crush? Backup Plan by Emily Goodwin brings a sweet love story but with a freaking HUGE cliffy. A cliffy I am not a fan of *giving you the side-eye Emily Goodwin*. I don’t remember seeing that warning sign…


My absolute favorite part of this book is the scenery. Oh to be in that cabin on the lake. To walk down to the pier and wrap up in a warm blanket with hot tea. Just perfection.


I am back and forth with Chloe. I love her quirk and her style. One I hope my own daughter will live up to. She kind of reminds me of my girl. Not going with the trends. Standing on her own two feet. But Chloe’s lack of trust is a bit of an issue. I would understand if she did not know Sam for long but they grew up together. Yeah, time has passed but her hesitation was a bit frustrating.


Now that I think about it Sam was a little back and forth for me. I loved the scenes with his brothers and family. His relationship felt more natural than it did with Chloe. Talk about a well-rounded family, the Harris’s that is.


While reading I kept on thinking well this will be the chapter, and then the next one but it took a bit to get there. The tempo was a bit slow for me. I was curious when that cellphone was answered what would happen. You left that bomb for the very end, didn’t you? Not sure how I feel about that. Not much of a fan of that type of wrench thrown into the spokes. Because it can go two ways and I am not a fan of either. But now that you did that I will have to read book 2 to figure out which direction you are going with this series. I see what you did there.


**ARC provided for honest review**


Release Date: 08/23/2020

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2GtR2dl

Purchase on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3jIrAPr


bottom of page