top of page
  • upallnightbb

Year 28 by J.L. Mac



Review by Leah


Ok, I know I know but I need to explain myself before I review and before I get lynched Year 28 by JL Mac. I read darker grittier reads so when this one hit my kindle I was groaning a bit. Yes, there are people that love a good love story. A good second chance at love but it is hard for me to get into those types of books much less watch that type of movie. I think my hubs watches more rom/coms, hallmarks than I do, HA!


Anyways back to Year 28. We start out with Raegan Potter. A woman that is conquering DC in stilettos. So you know this woman has a backbone stronger than steel. And JL Mac wrote her perfectly for that. She is now having to face some demons that we as readers have no clue besides her high school sweetheart. Which kind of has you guessing throughout the book.


Raegan’s high school sweetheart was Sylas Broussard and his entry into this book is priceless. In a way, I was hoping for more of that type of scene throughout the book between Sylas, Raegan, and Chicken Nugget. This man is as stubborn as a mule, I mean I don’t know how many who would put up with what he did for Raegan’s heart.


It just felt a little slow for me and Reagan’s personality got to me a bit. I am all for a strong h in a book but she felt frigid and like she was too good for her hometown which put me off. I wanted more of the bowling alley scenes where it showed Reagan relaxing and more herself rather than putting on a show. Overall it is a good read just not for me.


**ARC provided for honest review**


Release Date: October 1st 2020

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2F2jK4A



bottom of page